Office of the Provost

The Office of the Provost oversees and coordinates academic affairs, programs, and policies for the university. The provost, who serves as chief academic officer, and associate provosts often work closely with department chairs and faculty on curriculum development, academic leadership, and faculty and student affairs.

Provost and Professor James Lambert
  1. Dr. James Lambert, Provost

    Dr. James Lambert was appointed provost of Southern Virginia University in May 2021. In that capacity, he acts as the Chief Academic Officer of the university. A values-driven and enthusiastic leader, Dr. Lambert continues to prioritize student learning initiatives as a professor, administrator, and leader in higher education.

    Previous to this appointment, Dr. Lambert served as executive vice president of academic operations, a position created in August 2020 to oversee the execution of pandemic-era education at Southern Virginia University in collaboration with the provost. During his time at Southern Virginia, Dr. Lambert has directed the Writing Center, the Personal Learning Center, chaired the Humanities, and taught all levels of English and Writing courses.

    Throughout his career, Dr. Lambert has been a strong advocate for education that is based on seeking wisdom, generosity, and acuity from the best materials and books. In using that approach to undergraduate education, students become better equipped for graduate schools, professional schools, careers, and life. By first knowing how students learn, Dr. Lambert can then understand how teachers should teach. This continues to be his guiding philosophy in teaching, advising, and leading.

    Dr. Lambert earned a doctorate in literature from the University of Iowa, a master’s degree at the University of Arizona, and a bachelor’s degree at Brigham Young University. Before joining Southern Virginia University in 2016, Dr. Lambert chaired the English Program at American University of Kuwait. He has four kids and loves to ride around on a bike.

Associate Provosts and Division Chairs

Professor Sarah Maitland

Sarah Maitland

Associate Professor of English; Associate Provost; English Program Coordinator; Director of University Writing

Professor Megan Mason

Megan Mason

Assistant Professor of Music; Fine & Performing Arts Division Chair; Music Program Coordinator

Professor Todd Brotherson

Todd Brotherson

Business Management & Leadership Program Coordinator; Associate Professor of Business

Professor Jan-Erik Jones

Jan-Erik Jones

Professor of Philosophy; Humanities Division Chair; Philosophy Program Coordinator

Professor Jeremiah John

Jeremiah John

Professor of Politics; Social Science Division Chair; Political Science Program Coordinator

Jamie Chandler

Jamie Chandler

Accommodations Director; Assistant to the Provost