9th Annual Shenandoah Invitational Art Show and Campaign Gala Oct. 25

· October 18, 2012

Richard and Nancy Marriott will host the 9th Annual Shenandoah Invitational Art Show on Thursday, Oct. 25, at the Fairview Park Marriott Hotel in Falls Church, Va.

This year, the art show—which offers paintings for sale by a number of professional artists—will serve as a Southern Virginia University Capital Campaign Gala. Since its inception, the Shenandoah Invitational Art Show has served as a celebration of Southern Virginia and has used a percentage of the price of each painting sold to fund scholarships at the university.

“We’re pleased to have this fine event serve as our first East-coast Capital Campaign Gala,” said Dr. Richard G. Whitehead, vice president of institutional advancement at Southern Virginia. “The art show has a long tradition of excellence. It provides guests with the opportunity to purchase beautiful artwork, enjoy a wonderful meal and program, and help our highly talented students get a great education.”

Guests will include nationally recognized artists, friends of the university, as well as art professors and fine arts students at Southern Virginia.

Artwork will be for sale at a premium price during the artwork preview at 6 p.m. The evening’s program will begin after dinner is served at 7 p.m., and will include speeches by university representatives including Whitehead, a presentation of the campaign video, “Advancing the Genius of Small,” and a musical performance by the Southern Virginia University Concert Chorale. After the conclusion of dinner and the program, the sale of all artwork will take place.

Tickets may be purchased online, or by calling 540-261-2782.

Exhibiting artists include: 

Jen Babock 
Ken Baxter 
Julia Bringhurst Blake 
Vern Bullough 
Robert A. Call 
Robin Caspari 
Barbara Crawford 
Rose Datoc Dall 
Laura Erekson 
Leslie Whyte Graff 
Trent Gudmundsen 
Jerry Read Hancock 
Craig Harris 
Rebecca Hartvigsen 
Doug Himes 
Glen S. Hopkinson 
Sam Lawler
Jonathan Linton
Michael Malm
John McConkie
Steven E. McGinty
P. Buckley Moss
George McWilliams
Cleveland Morris
Wilson Ong
Del Parson
Walter Rane
Sandra B. Rast
Julie Rogers 
J. Kirk Richards
Alexander Selytin
A.D. Shaw
Steve Songer
Araceli Tarasso-Selytin
Darrell B. Thomas
Karl Thomas
Diane Turner
Kimball Warren
Marina Zavalova